top of page

Imagina Project - The Machine Week 4

Hello again! This week was certainly another fruitful week. Besides texturing some of the environment objects, I was also working on the look development, also known as shot paint overs, of the campsite. I rendered out a shot that has already been modelled and the colours of the objects in the scenes are already finalised in the concept art. The most taxing part is laying out the base colour and paint out the texture, following the style of artist Goro Fujita.

Thereafter, I decided to add in the glow for the campfire first since it is the primary light source in the scene. Then I painted in the ambient light for the scene.

Turns out it was too bright and it looks very flat and no longer looks a 3D scene. I decided to play with the depth and shadow of the objects as part of the solution. The ship in the background has to appear darker since it is the further away from the campfire; same goes for the giant plant in the distance as well. The scene still felt very bright as the light seems to be far-reaching; hence I lower the brightness of the rest of the objects in an attempt to make the campfire the center of attention.

This piece took me a lot faster than the last one. Perhaps it’s because I’ve gotten used to it.


Featured Posts
Archive
bottom of page