top of page

Imagina Project - The Machine Week 3

Hello! This week I’m working on the look development for the short film. This is the scene in the cave where the Father and girl first discover the alien artefact Zvor. It was a small challenge to do complete as it requires relatively accurate lighting. The piece has to turn out looking almost the same as the rendered final shot. I have to focus on each of the rock and stalagmites features to ensure that each has lighting accurately represented. I tried my best to paint in the highlights, bounce light and shadows in relative to each object as well.


I started out with applying the initial paint layer over the rendered scene which was 3D-modelled by me. Rendering in ambient occlusion helps in identifying the shadows in relative between objects.


Then I fill in the extra glowing effect for some of the stalagmites near the entrance of the cave. I then show it to some people and they suggested making the cave darker; which makes sense since the father is going to walk across the bridge with a flashlight. Having the environment too bright would not accentuate the lighting of the flashlight at all.


This is the final piece:


Overall it was a very enjoyable experience :)




Featured Posts
Archive
bottom of page